Tuesday, February 12, 2013

The Dry grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew



February is I Love to read month, so we’re again having a look at what staff have enjoyed.  One suggestions is The dry grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew. 

"In August of 1954, we took our first trip without Daddy and Stell got to use her driver's license". Thus begins this narrative of a pivotal month in the life of 13 year old  "Jubie" Watts. In that first paragraph we also get a sense of what is to come in the words, "But her having the license made that trip different from any others, because if she hadn't had it, Mary would still be with us."  Jubie's life is forever changed by the experiences of that August; some magical and others deeply traumatic.  In a personal, powerful debut, Mayhew explores the explosive tensions of the South in the mid-1950s through the prism of a young girl's friendship with her black maid and the currents of violence, infidelity, and corruption that run beneath the polite surface of her family's life.

Fans of The Secret Life of Bees, The Help, or Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood may enjoy this book.

No comments:

Post a Comment